Major Alpine Skiing competitions

World Cup winners L. Vonn and B. Miller of the USA
The international racing calendar outlined in “GSN and Alpine Skiing” has evolved in the late 1960s from a series of traditional events, the roots of skiing competitions in the Alps and elsewhere.
These events now form part of the FIS World Cup calendar, but some of them are so steeped in tradition that they maintain a strong appeal per se.
For example, the racing week-ends in the major Austrian, Italian and Swiss resorts award famous trophies such as the Hannekham (in Kitzbuehel), the Lauberhorn (in Wengen), the Arlberg – Kandahar (in Sankt Anton), the 3-Tre (in Madonna di Campiglio).
Then there are events that defy classification but still are part of Alpine Skiing history: the most famous is probably the Inferno Ski race in Murren, in the Bernese Oberland ,Switzerland. It was first raced in 1928 under the auspices of the skiing pioneer Sir Arnold Lund and is still run to this day, over a hellish 15 km course.
FIS also runs a more localised season racing calendar with the Europa Cup, usually a stepping stone for athletes on their way to World Cup skiing. The same happens in Canada and the USA, with the Nor – Am Series.