Major cycling competitions

Mountain bike racing
In mountain bike racing, the UCI Mountain Bike & Trials World Championships is the most important and prestigious competition each year. This includes the disciplines of cross-country, downhill and four-cross.
In addition, this event consists of world championship events for bike trials riding. Unlike other UCI-sanctioned races, the World Championships is organized by nationality, not by commercial teams. The race is usually held towards the end of the season. The first world championships took place in Durango (USA) in 1990, consisting just of cross country and downhill events. Trials riding was added in 1992. The dual slalom event was added in 2000 but replaced by four-cross in 2002. A team relay event was added in 1999. Mountain bike marathon was included on the schedule at the 2003 championships in Lugano, but established as a separate world championship discipline from 2004. The 2008 championships took place in Val di Sole, Italy. Mens gold went to Christoph Sauser (SUI), and womens gold was won by Margarita Fullana (ESP), with the national team gold going to Spain.
The UCI Mountain Bike World Cup is a series of races, held annually since 1991. Riders win points according to their placing in each event. The reigning series leaders in each class are identified by a special jersey. Julien Absalon (Fra) is the king of this cup having won gold for the last 3 years running! Last years female gold went to Marie-Hélène Prémont (Sui).