Rugby Union Champions

Bryan Habana of South Africa
The Springboks (the South African national teams’ nickname) took the title in France in July 2007 beating England 15-6 in the final, repeating their 1995 triumph.
They and Australia are the only teams in World Cup history to have clinched the title twice, though South Africa did not play in the first 2 editions of the World Cup (1987 and 1991) for political reasons.
The Springbok’s international record is very impressive: despite trailing New Zealand both in the Tri Nations tournament (2 victories to 9), and in test matches (42 losses to 30 victories), they have a winning record in test matches against all the other leading rugby union nations:
- vs England: 17 wins to 12 losses (1 draw) 56,7%
- vs France: 20 wins to 10 losses (6 draws) 55,6%
- vs Australia: 37 wins vs 24 losses (1 draw) 59,7%
- vs  Scotland: 15 wins vs 4 losses, 79%
- vs Ireland: 14 wins vs 3 losses (1 draw) 77,8%
- vs Wales: 21 wins vs 1 loss (1 draw) 91%
Ireland aren't only the reigning Six Nations champions, but also winners of the Grand Slam (ie they won all the games in the series) in 2009, the second time Irish rugby has achieved this since 1948. 
The Shamrock team has been on a sporting upswing for the last 5 years at least: since 2004 they won 4 Triple Crowns in the 6 Nations and have reached 3rd place in the IRB Rankings in 2006; currently they are in 4th position. They may trail all other British Isles teams, and France, in 6 Nations wins (only 11 outright wins, the closest to them being Scotland with 14) but the Irish are definitely going places in international Rugby Union.